Icebreaker Recap-Hog News-Awards

May 8, 2012

DeKalb, Il.

DeKalb, Illinois

New Image won the 2012 Hustlehog Icebreaker Tournament.

We hope that eventually we can expand on our current eight teams.  Hopefully you can join us for the 2013 edition the first weekend in May.

New Image defeated the DeKalb Hogs 9-0 in the championship after defeating Rockford 10-3 in the semifinal.  Nate Berg was named Most Valuable Player and Jeremy Holman was named Most Outstanding Pitcher for the tournament.  Harvey Knudson and Chance Schmitt joined their teammates on the all-tournament team.

The Hogs defeated Bloomington 2-1 in the first round of the Sunday playoffs.  The Hogs scored both runs on great hustle plays as Tom Crouch scored from first base on a single from Brian Tobin to score the first run of the game in the sixth.  In the top of the seventh, Brandon Elmer snuck into home while Bloomington's catcher and Hog teammate, Aaron Leahy, were tangled up in a collision at the plate to give the Hogs the lead 2-1.  Bryan Lathrop was outstanding for the Hogs again in the game.

The Hogs then defeated Aurora 7-1 in the semifinal.  Aaron Leahy and Tom Crouch homered in this one.  Crouch broke a 0-0 tie in the fifth with his and Leahy hit a three run shot in the top of the seventh to give the Hogs the lead for good.  They scored three more after Leahy's bomb.  Lathrop again got the win.

New Image jumped out on the Hogs in the top of the first of the championship game and never looked back.

Congratulations to all the teams.  It was a nice tournament.

All Tournament Team (Hogs in bold and stats included):
Jeremy Holman P (New Image)
Bryan Lathrop P (Hogs) 27IP 46K 1BB 4ER
Ales Jetmar P (Aurora)
Nate Berg OF (New Image)
Aaron Leahy OF (Hogs) 5x14 HR 4RBI
Adrian Thomas OF (Rockford)
Harvey Knudson IF (New Image)
Jessi Booth IF (Rockford)
Chance Schmitt IF (New Image)
Tom Crouch IF (Hogs) 9x19 3HR 11RBI
Karl Gollan IF (Des Moines)
Mike Drew DP (Aurora)
Greg Punke UT (Bloomington)

The Hogs next travel to Rockford on Saturday for a RR with Rockford and Granite City.

Check us out on facebook or on our web site at



DeKalb, Il.
Game 1:
Hogs 13
DSC Fastpitch 0
WP Lathrop
LP Miller
T. Crouch 2HR 8RBI
Tobin HR

Game 2:
Aurora D&M Shamrocks 5
Rockfrod BHAC Pride 2
WP Jetmar
LP Sardina
Impressive performance from very young (20?) year old Sardina who sjust began pithcing two years ago.
HR Schuett.  McKinney 2 RBI.

More games today.  Follow the tourbnament on our web site:
friend us on facebook (Hustehogs Fastball)


New Image 29

Rockford 13
Mazon 3

Hogs 2
McCueens Pub 1
(8 innings)
Crutcher walk off single in bottom 8th.
T. Crouch 2x3. B Crouch 2x3
WP Lathrop 16K 4H 0ER

Aurora 8
Mazon 0

Bloomington 5
Rockford 2

Aurora 5
Bloomington 4

Mazon 11
Bloomington 8

McCueens Pub 7

New Image 7
Hogs 0
WP Holman
Cardella, T. Crouch, Pittman all 1x2

Aurora 5
Rocfkrd 1

Playoff matchups

Game 1: 11am Rockford vs McCueens Pub
Game 2: 11am Hogs vs Bloomington

New Image vs Game 1 winnrer
Aurora vs Game 2 winner

Championship at 230PM

May 4-6, 2012
The sixth annual Hustlehogs Icebreaker will take place this weekend in DeKalb, Il..
Someone there will be updating scores, etc..
Games start Friday night at 645pm with the host team taking on the DeKalb-Sycamore Church All Star squad.  Then, at 830pm, Rockford takes on Aurora.
All games are at Katz Park in DeKalb on West dresser Rd and admission is free.
Championship slated for 230 on Sunday.
Check us out on Facebook (Hustlehogs Fastball) or on our web site at



AU Sable AFP Fastpitch Fastpitch West International Softball Congress Men’s Fastpitch SA North American Fastpitch Association Ontario Amateur Softball Association

Ontario Masters Fastball sports betting site betway Shooters Fastpitch League Softball Canada Softball New Zealand WBSC