News Stories

Media Accreditation now open for WBSC Softball Americas Qualifier in Surrey, Canada

July 12, 2019

Surrey, BC - - Media Accreditation now open for WBSC Softball Americas Qualifier in Surrey, Canada

World Baseball Softball Confederation, Maison du Sport International, Av. de Rhodanie 54, Lausanne, 1007 Switzerland
View online: English
MEDIA ADVISORY - 12 July 2019

Media Accreditation now open for WBSC Softball Americas Qualifier in Surrey, Canada
Media registration for the WBSC Softball Americas Softball Qualification Event for the Games of the XXXII Olympiad Tokyo 2020, taking place 25 August to 1 September in Surrey, British Columbia, Canada, is now available and will remain open until Thursday, 15 August.
All members of the media, both local/national and international, who intend to cover the Softball Americas qualification event for the Games of the XXXII Olympiad Tokyo 2020 must apply through the official WBSC Media Accreditation online platform at
Media credentials will be distributed at the pre-tournament press conference and thereafter at the Softball City (Surrey) from 25 August.
A total of 12 National Teams will participate at the WBSC Softball Americas Qualifying Event for the Games of the XXXII Olympiad Tokyo 2020. The participants were drawn into two groups:
Group A: No. 3 Canada (3), No. 4 Puerto Rico, No. 39 Bahamas, No. 17 Cuba, No. 18 Guatemala, No. 25 Argentina.  
Group B: No. 5 Mexico, No. 16 Venezuela, No. 14 Brazil, No. 20 Peru, No. 57 British Virgin Islands, No. 19 Dominican Republic.  
The round robin will be played from 25-29 August. The top three National Teams in each group will advance to a Super Round (30 August to 1 September). The top two National Teams in the tournament final standings will gain a berth for the Tokyo 2020 Olympic Games.  
  • Pre-event Press Conference: 24 August, 2019, 1:00 p.m. local time, at the Sheraton Vancouver Guildford. Address: 15269 104 Avenue, Surrey BC V3R 1N5. (Map)
  • Competition Venue: Softball City - 2201 148 Street, Surrey BC, Canada. (Map)
  • Official Website in six languages: (English, French, Japanese, Korean, Spanish, Traditional Chinese)
  • Local Tournament Website:
  • Official Social Media: @WBSC on Twitter, Facebook, Instagram and Weibo
  • Official Hashtag: #RoadToTokyo
Coverage by Non-Rights Holder TV/RADIO and Crew 
Only rights holders of applicable games may transmit game footage (audio and/or video) of the WBSC events. During games, NRHs are not permitted to record either audio or video in the stadium, or conduct live commentary. Failure to respect these guidelines will result in an immediate withdrawal of media accreditation, potential legal action and blacklisting, in order to protect WBSC's partners and rights-holder agreements.  
NRH media will be given access to official training sessions, pre/post-game sessions, mixed zones, press conferences and Opening/Closing Ceremonies. NRH cameras must be turned off and/or stored during games.  
Credentials will be granted by specific category (i.e., Press, Photographer, Radio, TV), and access will be granted accordingly.  
Photographers and NRH TV crews will be required to wear bibs. 
# # #
About the World Baseball Softball Confederation 
Headquartered in Lausanne, Switzerland -- the Olympic Capital -- the World Baseball Softball Confederation (WBSC) is the world governing body for baseball and softball. WBSC has 206 National Federation and Associate Members in 135 countries and territories across Asia, Africa, Americas, Europe and Oceania, which represent a united baseball/softball sports movement that encompasses over 65 million athletes and attracts approximately 150 million fans to stadiums worldwide annually. 
The WBSC governs all international competitions involving official National Teams. The WBSC oversees the Softball World Cups, Softball World Championships (Men, Women, U-19 Men, and U-19 Women), Premier12, World Baseball Classic, and Baseball World Cups (U-12, U-15, U-18, U-23 and Women's), as well as baseball and softball events at the Olympic Games.

For more information, visit, which is available six languages: English, French, Japanese, Korean, Spanish and Traditional Chinese.
Like us on Facebook
Follow us on Twitter
View on Instagram
View our videos on YouTube