News Stories

USA Softball Men’s National Team begins preparations in Auckland, New Zealand prior to WBSC Men’s Softball World Cup

November 22, 2022

AUCKLAND, New Zealand –  USA Softball Men’s National Team begins preparations in Auckland, New Zealand prior to WBSC Men’s Softball World Cup



USA Softball Men’s National Team begins preparations in Auckland, New Zealand prior to WBSC Men’s Softball World Cup

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE
November 21, 2022
Web Release: Link

AUCKLAND, New Zealand – Members of the USA Softball Men’s National Team (MNT) have arrived in Auckland, New Zealand ahead of the 2022 World Baseball Softball Confederation (WBSC) Men’s Softball World Cup. The Red, White and Blue will kick off the trip with a series of practices and scrimmages before taking the field November 26 – December 4 as the Eagles look to claim their 10th WBSC Men’s Softball World Championship medal. 

Click here for full release »
 

The U.S. MNT will take part in multiple scrimmage games against Argentina (Nov. 22), Japan (Nov. 23) and Canada (Nov. 24) prior to the nine-day competition where they will face top Men’s Fast pitch talent from around the globe. The 12 participating countries will open the tournament in two groups before moving onto the Super and Placement Rounds with the top two teams advancing to the World Championship Final. Team USA will compete in Group A alongside Argentina, the Czech Republic, New Zealand, Cuba and the Philippines while Japan, Canada, the Aussie Steelers, Venezuela, Denmark and South Africa will face-off in Group B.?

Beginning Opening Round on Saturday, Nov. 26 at Whakaata M?ori Stadium, the U.S. will take on the Philippines at 8 p.m. NZST (1 a.m. CT) before matching up against New Zealand on Nov. 27 at 3 p.m. NZST (Nov. 26 at 8 p.m. CT). Continuing the competition, Team USA will face the Czech Republic (Nov. 28 at 1:30 p.m. NZST/Nov. 27 at 6:30 p.m. CT), Cuba (Nov. 29 at 12 p.m. NZST/Nov. 28 at 5 p.m. CT) and Argentina (Nov. 30 at 1:30 p.m. NZST and 6:30 p.m. CT) to close out Opening Round. The tournament will then advance to the Super and Placement Rounds where the top three teams in each Group will battle it out to determine the final two teams who will go head-to-head in the World Championship Final on Friday, Dec, at 4 p.m. NZST (Dec. 3 at 9 pm. CT). The third and fourth-place teams will compete for the bronze medal earlier that day.

Click here to view the schedule, roster, live streaming & more »

About USA Softball
USA Softball (USAS) is a 501(c)(3) not-for profit organization headquartered in Oklahoma City, Okla., and is designated as the National Governing Body (NGB) of Softball in the United States and a member of the United States Olympic & Paralympic Committee. One of the nation’s largest sports organizations, USAS sanctions competition through a network of Local Associations, which includes all 50 states and select metro associations.  USAS is dedicated to providing people of all ages the opportunity to play the game they love at a variety of levels by offering recreational, league, tournament and competitive play for fast pitch, slow pitch and modified pitch.  USAS annually conducts thousands of tournaments throughout the country including over 100 National Championships.  The USAS umpire program is among the nation’s largest and are widely known as the best trained umpires in the game.

As the NGB for the sport of softball, USAS is responsible for training, equipping and promoting the six USA Softball National Teams that compete in events such as the Olympics, Pan American Games, World Championships and other international and domestic events. For more information on USAS, including its founding and history as the Amateur Softball Association of America (ASA), please visit, www.USASoftball.com.

OUR SPONSORS

TRENDING NOW
@alsfastball
FRIENDS OF AL'S FASTBALL
AU Sable AFP Fastpitch Fastpitch West International Softball Congress Men’s Fastpitch SA North American Fastpitch Association Ontario Amateur Softball Association

Ontario Masters Fastball sports betting site betway Shooters Fastpitch League Softball Canada Softball New Zealand WBSC