

The Saskatoon Amateur Softball Association is proud to be hosting it's 50th Anniversary celebrations, Saturday August 2 and Sunday August 3. The highlight will be a major celebration at Kinsmen Arena Saturday night. The SASA has produced 21 different national champions including 12 since the year 2000. It is the only association whose teams have won the Senior A Men's and Women's National Softball Championship in the same year, 1969. It is also the only association to produce 3 National champions in one season: 2008 Midget Boys, Sr. Men's and Jr Women's. At the end of this season Saskatoon on will have hosted 29 different national or international events including three ISF world championships.

Famous softball names span each of the 5 decades of SASA history including players like Peter Zacharias, Eddie Swiderski, Shelia Rowan and Vera Pezer from the 1960's. The 70's featured the likes of Gene McWillie, Rob Guenter, Ann Tkachuck, and Joan Duprey. In the 80's, local fans had the chance to watch players like Rob Scheller, Jay Sim, Pat Wegner and Irene Wallace come into prominence. The 90's produced stars like Olympians: Erin Cumpstone, and Jacki Nichol as well as Team Canada players such as Terry Wallin and Dale Dirks. The 21st century kept up the tradition producing players like national teamers Dean Holoien and Keith Mackintosh as well Olympian Dionne Meier and national teamer, Heather Ebert. It has been an exciting 50 years as we look forward to welcoming our next 50 with the 2014 Men's ISF World Championship.

Check us out on Facebook at

https://www.facebook.com/pages/SASA-50th-Anniversary/807326745947497