

■ http://www.saskatoonamateursoftball.com/

MEDIA RELEASE

September 25, 2018

SUBJECT: <u>DARREN LIPINSKI MEMORIAL AWARD</u>

This media conference is to announce the winner of the 2017 Darren Lipinski Memorial Award. This award was established in 1975 by Peter and Ellen Lipinski to be awarded annually by the Saskatoon Amateur Softball Association to an individual(s) for outstanding contribution to softball in Saskatoon. Previous winners of this award were as follows: (**Deceased)

1975 - John Newton **	1976 - Bob Van Impe
1977 - Glenn Reeve	1978 - Ed Reimer
1979 - Andy Lappas	1980 - Dennis Beerling
1981 - Morris Smysnuik	1982 - Jim Shirley
1983 - Ray and Dot Pike **	1984 - Gail Hopkins-Cooper
1985 - Keith McLean	1986 - Bob Stayner **
1987 - Joe Gallagher **	1988 - Vic Loewen
1989 - Irene Trimble-Barrett **	1990 - Don Burfitt
1991 - John Haider **	1992 - Ken Gunn
1993 - Ed Wright **	1994 - Gaile Abel
1995 - Ed Bitz **	1996 - Lisa Down
1997 - Ernie Sorokowski	1998 - Eugene McWillie
1999 – Dave Moore	2000 - Al McKay **
2001 – George Storos	2002 – Bernie Gurash
2003 – Ida Nerbas	2004 – Gary MacDonald
2005 – Bob Revenko	2006 –Wayne & Marlene Paul
2007 – Ted Lester	2008 – Bryan Kosteroski
2009 - Noreen Murphy	2010 – Lawrence Beatty
2011 – Earle Woodside	2012 – Roger Malmgren
2013 – Doug Schultz	2014 – Gary Burns
2015 – Mark Loehndorf	2016 – Dave McCullough
2017 – Bernie Burtney	2018 - ???

Past recipients of the award serve on the selection committee to choose the succeeding winners.

SASKATOON AMATEUR SOFTBALL ASSOCIATION MEDIA RELEASE – September 25, 2018 DARREN LIPINSKI MEMORIAL AWARD

The recipient of this year's Darren Lipinski Memorial Award has a long and distinguished involvement in the Saskatoon softball community which spans over 40 years.

His involvement with softball started in 1977 when he began coaching a community team, the Eastview Blues. He continued to coach in the minor ranks for another 6 years during which his teams were 2 time provincial qualifiers. In 1979, the Eastview Dodgers, the team he coached, were Western Canadian Champions in the midget division.

He then turned to coaching in the junior and adult division, first with the Saskatoon Jr. Blues for 4 years, and then with a senior women's team, Overhead Door for another 4 years. The Jr. Blues were 3 time provincial qualifiers, and the Overhead Door team won the provincial title twice. From 1986 to 1988 Overhead Door attended the Western Canadian Senior B women's championships, winning two silver medals and one bronze medal.

Following a brief hiatus from coaching, he once again became involved in minor softball when his own children came of age. He coached Division 1 teams in the Raider zone from 2002 to the end of 2007 during which his teams were five time league champions, six city champions and three time provincial champions. This Raider team attended three Western Canadian Championships in the pee wee and bantam divisions, attaining the gold medal in the bantam division in 2007.

For the past 5 years he has coached Saskatoon Synergy ladies Senior B team, participating twice in the Western Canadians Championships.

SASKATOON AMATEUR SOFTBALL ASSOCIATION MEDIA RELEASE – September 26, 2017 DARREN LIPINSKI MEMORIAL AWARD

In 2008, the University of Saskatchewan formed a softball team. Our recipient became an assistant coach, a position he held for 3 years. He then became a head coach for 2 years. During his tenure as a coach of the U of S team, they won the league championship 5 times. This team won the national championship in 2008 and 2010 as well a silver medal in 2009 and a bronze medal in 2012.

In 2002 he was a member, and part of the organizing committee for the ISF Women's World Softball Championship, serving as Director of Security. He served again in this capacity at the 2009 and 2015 ISF World Men's Softball Championship. All three ISF championships were hosted by the Saskatoon Amateur Softball Association.

In addition to all his coaching he has continued as a volunteer in a wide range of roles, but still in the sport of softball. He was a member of the Saskatoon Minor Softball Association executive team in the Raider Zone from 2001 to 2007. He was also a member of the Saskatoon Midget Selects executive committee from 2007 to 2010. He served as a member of the Finance Committee for the SASA from 2011 to 2016. From 2014 to 2016 he was a guest coach for the Canadian National Junior Softball Program.

In addition to his softball activity, our recipient was also a high ranking official for hockey in Saskatchewan and Western Canada doing many WHL, SJHL and CIS games over a period of 25 years, retiring in 2001.

SASKATOON AMATEUR SOFTBALL ASSOCIATION MEDIA RELEASE – September 26, 2017 DARREN LIPINSKI MEMORIAL AWARD

Outside of softball, our recipient's career is with the Saskatoon Police Service serving as a superintendent responsible for all support units of the Saskatoon Police Service.

He and his wife Cheryl have two daughters, Mallory and Amanda, and a son, Matthew.

Ladies and gentlemen, please join me in welcoming the recipient of the 44th Annual Darren Lipinski Memorial Award for 2018:

BRIAN

SHALOVELO

4