2010 Ontario Challenge Cup - Wrap Up

September 20, 2010

Mitchell, ON

On behalf of ISC Canada East- Vice President , Blair Setford and myself, I would like to congratulate the Mitchell Mets on winning the 2010 Ontario Challenge
Cup held this past weekend in Mitchell.   The Mets went 5-0 and with the perfect record came away with the Laverne Reichert Memorial Trophy and will
Receive a berth in the 2011 ISC   World Tournament to be held in the Moline, Illinois next August.  The finalist for the weekend were the Ingersoll Crush
Who posted a 4 win – 2 loss record with both losses notched on the backs of the eventual champions , the Mitchell Mets
I would like to Thank our hosts for the weekend, Chairman Kory Dietz and the OHA  Jr. C Hockey Team - the Mitchell Hawks who are also celebrating 45 years
of history for  this storied franchise.
Some of the Movers and the Shakers with  Kory were Jason Murray and Becky  Eidt, who both did a marvelous job behind the scenes in keeping
Everything working like clock work. Also a big Hurrah to Arena Manager and Diamond Grooms person Rick Vivian.  The players on the Hockey team
Were very visible on Saturday and assisted in the raking and keeping the Diamonds in tip/top  Shape.
Also a big part of the tournament were the (4) scorekeepers, MaryBeth Gilbert, Kerrie Vosper, Marianne Stroh and Don Barr,  who took care of all 23 games, With an experienced crew of Scorekeepers we were able To send in timely reports to  Al Doran and Jim Flanagan to keep the people that were not able
To attend make them feel like they were just around the corner.
The Blue Crew lead by Umpire in Chief  Paul Baier from Stratford, again did a marvelous job The Crew consisted of Chris Lamer, Jay Hart, Ed Otterman,
Tim Whitelaw, Trevor Topping, Steve Kuhl, Moe Carde, Mike Clark and Dave Selden p.s. also a Thank you to Maryanne Baier who took some pictures
That I am sure she will share later on in the week and also cooks a mean bowl of homemade Chicken Noodle Soup that I can vouch for ..
And last by certainly not least, our experienced crew of Game Controllers , Sr. Game Controller Doug Bach stepped in for me on Saturday afternoon and
Saturday night to allow me to attend a 35 year reunion of our Jr B team that won the OASA  Crowns in both 1974 and 1975.  The weather did not Co-operate
On Saturday night while I was away but at the end of the day only one  game was moved from late Saturday night had to be shuffled to a  Sunday morning start time .  The Game Controllers assisting Doug  were Chris Bach, Jim Marr, and Jeff Whetstone,
Thank you to all the teams and leagues  that participated in the 2010 OCC and to all the Fans that made the trip to Mitchell for our last fastball fix for  2010
Good Health in the off season and See you all in the Spring of 2011
Joe Todd
ISC Canada East Commissioner

AU Sable AFP Fastpitch Fastpitch West International Softball Congress Men’s Fastpitch SA North American Fastpitch Association Ontario Amateur Softball Association

Ontario Masters Fastball sports betting site betway Shooters Fastpitch League Softball Canada Softball New Zealand WBSC