Pioneer Days Men’s Fastpitch Continues July 11-13, 2014

October 4, 2013

Salt Lake City, UT

Pioneer Days Men’s Fastpitch Continues in July 2014

For immediate release or posting (10-2-13)

The highly popular Larry H. Miller Pioneer Days Men’s Fastpitch softball tournament will return to Salt Lake July 11, 12, 13 after a highly successful 2013 resurgence. 


Salt Lake County Parks & Recreation and local promoters will continue to organize the tournament that was last held in 2013 and before that in 2002.  It’s named the Larry H. Miller Memorial Pioneer Days Tournament to honor the individual who was instrumental in having the tournament here since 1974 and making it one of the country’s best and most popular men’s fastpitch tournaments.


The Tradition Continues!  Some of the country’s top teams competed in the tournament last year that included the California A’s who finished 6th at the 2013 ISC World Tournament, with Lucas Mata anchoring the pitching staff.  Other top teams include Pueblo (CO) Bandits who finished (ISC) 14th, and the Lacey’s A’s (ISC) 18th.  Two additional teams who competed in the Utah tournament, Cal-State Builders won the ASA “A” Nationals and Boise River Dogs won the ASA “C” Western Nationals.


The tournament will be expanding to 12 teams rather than 8.  The tournament entry fee will be $450.00 per team. All games are at the Larry H. Miller Softball Complex.  There is no admission charge.


More information to follow in the future!


Contact Information:


Eliza Schofield or Staci Hemmingway

Salt Lake County Park and Rec

Sports Office (385)-468-1670


Tommy Gray (Tournament Organizer)

801-949-3329 or


Join us on Facebook, Salt Lake Valley Men’s Fast-Pitch



Amazing pictures of last year’s tournament can be seen on





AU Sable AFP Fastpitch Fastpitch West International Softball Congress Men’s Fastpitch SA North American Fastpitch Association Ontario Amateur Softball Association

Ontario Masters Fastball sports betting site betway Shooters Fastpitch League Softball Canada Softball New Zealand WBSC