Oshawa Ravens Win OCDFL Championship

October 20, 2006

Oshawa, ON

Oshawa, Ontario
October 20, 2006

The Oshawa Ravens captured the Oshawa City and District Fastball league
Championship on Wednesday, October 18, 2006 in Aurora against Aurora
Shoeless Joe's taking the best of 5 series 3 games to 1. Oshawa led the
series going into Wednesday's double-header action 2 - 0 with Aurora taking
the opening game under the strong pitching of Todd Martin. Phil Yahn took
the loss. Paul Koert led the Ravens to the win in the second game as the
Ravens took advantage of a tiring Todd Martin. Congratulations to Manager
Jim Trimm and the rest of the Oshawa Ravens.

Prior to the game, the League Executive took the opportunity to present the
annual player awards. The Top Batter for 2006 was Mike Samways from the
Markham Majors who led the League with a 571 batting average. Paul Koert
from the Ravens was the Top Pitcher with a 0.31 ERA, 6 wins and 97
strikeouts. The MVP Award was presented to Scott Evans from the Stouffville
Mennos for his strong pitching and batting performance which helped the
Mennos finish the regular season in first place. The Executive also awarded
Rick May from the Lake Simcoe Lightning with a special recognition award for
his team leadership and perennial contributions as a player with the
Lightning. Rick is always among the League leaders in strikeouts and has
led his team to the League playoffs every year.

Congratulations to all teams for a great season.

Jim Spiers


AU Sable AFP Fastpitch Fastpitch West International Softball Congress Men’s Fastpitch SA North American Fastpitch Association Ontario Amateur Softball Association

Ontario Masters Fastball sports betting site betway Shooters Fastpitch League Softball Canada Softball New Zealand WBSC