News Stories

Softball Canada Announces 2017 Men’s National Team Athlete Pool

October 31, 2016

Ottawa, ON - Softball Canada Announces 2017 Men’s National Team Athlete Pool

The following is a media release issued by Softball Canada.
October 31st, 2016

Softball Canada Announces
2017 Men’s National Team Athlete Pool

(Ottawa, ON) Softball Canada is pleased to announce the list of forty (40) athletes who have been named to the 2017 Men’s National Team Athlete Pool. The coaching staff will select up to twent-two (22) athletes from the Athlete Pool to attend a Men’s National Team Selection Camp in June of 2017.
Team Canada head coach John Stuart (Langley, BC) and assistant coaches John Hill (St. John’s, NL) and Les Howey (Conception Bay, NL) will return as the coaching staff for the 2017 WBSC Men’s World Softball Championship in Whitehorse, YT, where Canada will be defending its World title.
The Men’s National Team held a Development Camp in June but did not compete in any events in 2016. Team Canada had its best year ever in 2015, capturing Gold at both the WBSC Men’s World Softball Champions in Saskatoon and the Pan American Games in Toronto.
“With the success of 2015 in the past, we have to continue to move forward with our goal of putting the best possible team on the field in 2017” stated Mike Branchaud, Manager – Men’s National Teams and Canadian Championships at Softball Canada. “With this talented group of 40 players, there is no doubt this team will have the ability to defend the world title. We have a core group that is dedicated to fitness and preparing to be at the top of their game come July 2017 in Whitehorse.”

The athletes who have been named to the 2017 Men’s National Team Athlete Pool are:
First Name Last Name Hometown
Bryan Abrey Richmond, B.C.
Adam Alexander Walkerton, Ont.
Tyson Barkman Abottsford, B.C.
Ryan Boland St. John's, N.L.
Shane Boland St. John's, N.L.
Patrick Burns Saskatoon, Sask.
Sean Cleary Harbour Main, N.L.
Jeff Ellsworth St. Lawrence, P.E.I.
Brad Ezekiel Harbour Main, N.L.
Kyle Ezekiel Holyrood, N.L.
Ryan French Kitchener, Ont.
Jason Hill St. John's, N.L.
Brandon Horn Waterloo, Ont.
Blake Hunter Nanaimo, B.C.
Mark Johnson Brantford, Ont.
Travis Jones Neyaashiinigmiing, Ont.
Ryan Kirk Goulds, N.L.
Justin Krulicki Kitchener, Ont.
Alexandre Lemieux Saint-Gervais, Que.
Scott Lieph Sooke, B.C.
Kyle Linton Toronto, Ont.
Jeff Lyons Appin, Ont.
Derek Mayson North Vancouver, B.C.
Devon McCullough Saskatoon, Sask.
Nic Moore Ariss, Ont.
Steve Mullaley Freshwater, N.L.
Jeremy O'Reilly Placentia, N.L.
Tyler Pauli Mitchell, Ont.
Tyler Randerson New Hamburg, Ont.
Mathieu Roy Saint-Gervais, Que.
Jason Sanford Durham, N.S.
Kevin Schellenberg Squamish, B.C.
Justin Schofield Grand Pré, N.S.
Taylor Schubada Irma, Alta.
Ty Sebastian Brussels, Ont.
Andy Skelton Scarborough, Ont.
Blake Underwood Port Elgin, Ont.
Colin Walsh Petty Harbour, N.L.
Kris Walushka Victoria, B.C.
Tyler Whynot Kentville, N.S.

Athletes named to the Men’s National Team Athlete Pool are eligible to be invited to Men’s National Team training, development and selection camps. Athletes may be added or removed from the National Team Athlete Pool at any time at the Head Coach’s discretion.
For more information, please contact:
Mike Branchaud
Manager, National Teams and Canadian Championships
Softball Canada
613-523-3386 ext. 3103
Copyright © 2016 Softball Canada, All rights reserved.
You are receiving this email because you subscribed to our distribution list through our website.
Our mailing address is:
Softball Canada
223 Colonnade Road, Suite 212
Ottawa, ON K2E 7K3

AU Sable AFP Fastpitch Fastpitch West International Softball Congress Men’s Fastpitch SA North American Fastpitch Association Ontario Amateur Softball Association

Ontario Masters Fastball sports betting site betway Shooters Fastpitch League Softball Canada Softball New Zealand WBSC