ISC Changes For 2008

August 28, 2007

Salt Lake City, UT

Here are the significant 2008 changes approved by the ISC Board of Directors in Kitchener.  These are in no particular order of importance.
Carrol Forbes Foundation Scholarships - Beginning immediately, high school seniors are eligible to win this $500 scholarship.  Previously, applicants were required to have completed some college study.  If a high school senior wins the scholarship, payment will be withheld until at least one semester of college is completed. 
A 2nd annual scholarship has been approved so two $500 scholarships will be awarded each year.  Details about the scholarship program are shown on the ISC web site.
Mexico and Caribbean Now Part of International Region - Effective with the 2008 season, all of Mexico and the Caribbean will be considered part of the International Region.  Previously, Mexico was included in both US West and US Central regions and the Caribbean was part of US East region.  This means any players living in Mexico or the Caribbean will be considered Out Of Region for US and Canadian based teams.
Mike Cutro New US East Regional Commissioner - Mike Cutro, sponsor and manager of the CPI team of Oswego, NY has been named a US East Regional Commissioner.  Mike brings a passion and knowledge of the game including familiarity with the ISC II caliber teams in NY state and New England.
Team Entry Fees $350 for World Tournament and ISC II ToC - Beginning in 2008, all team entry fees are standardized at $350 for both World Tournament and ISC II teams.
2008 Hall of Fame Inductees - Hal Britton, Denny Bruckert, Doug Chase, Al Doran, Floyd "Blue"  La Vergne and Gordon Wise will be inducted into the ISC Hall of Fame in Kimberly, August 10, 2008. 
Catcher Courtesy Runner Rule Eliminated - The prior rule allowing for a 2-out courtesy runner for the catcher, has been eliminated.
US West Region Changes - El Paso, Hudspeth, Culbertson, Jeff Davis and Presidio counties in west Texas are now part of US West region.
Dean Oscar Elected ISC President - Dean Oscar of Reedsburg, WI was elected ISC President replacing Dick Mason who chose to not run for re-election.  Dick remains as an ISC Commissioner in the US West region.  All other previous officers were re-elected.
New Statistics Category Added - A pitching category was added as an official ISC statistic.  It is for pitchers with the longest consecutive win streak in ISC World Tournament competition.  This will be added in the 2008 ISC Guide and placed on the ISC web site.
Kimberly Will Be A 7-day Tournament In 2008.  ISC II 4-days - Due to requests from host cities, the 2008 ISC World Tournament will be a 7-day tournament, from Sunday thru Saturday.  Likewise, the ISC II Tournament of Champions will be a 4-day tournament from Wednesday thru Saturday.
The first official function in Kimberly will be the Hall of Fame Induction Breakfast on Sunday morning, August 10, 2008 with tournament games beginning at 12 noon.  Opening Ceremonies will be held Sunday evening.  The team registration and manager meeting will be conducted Saturday evening or late afternoon.

Ken Hackmeister
Executive Director

AU Sable AFP Fastpitch Fastpitch West International Softball Congress Men’s Fastpitch SA North American Fastpitch Association Ontario Amateur Softball Association

Ontario Masters Fastball sports betting site betway Shooters Fastpitch League Softball Canada Softball New Zealand WBSC