Championship Game - Softball Canada Senior Mens FP @ St. John's NFLD

September 2, 2007

St. John's, NL

Softball Canada Senior Mens FP National Championship @ St. John's

Championship Game - (completed at 2:45 pm PDT)

Vancouver Grey Sox 1
St. John's, Newfoundland Roebothan,McKay,Marshall 0

WP - Korrey Gareau
LP - Frank Cox

An exciting championship game played before a large and pro - Newfoundland
crowd. Grey Sox 3B Rob Giesbrecht reached base on an error in the 5th inning
and scored when DP Doug Cain doubled, thus providing the BC side with the
margin of victory. In the bottom of the 7th the host team from St. John's
led off with a double to make things very interesting, but Grey Sox pitcher
Korrey Gareau battled his way out of the jam and the Vancouver side turned a
double play to end the game.

The Grey Sox become the first BC based team to win the National Championship
since the 2001 Victoria Travellers Inn accomplished the feat at the annual
event held that year in Summerside, PEI. They also become the first
Vancouver based team to win the Nationals in 41 years since the Vancouver
Blue Boys last did it in 1966 when the event was held that year in Calgary,

Final Order of Finish

Gold - Vancouver Grey Sox
Silver - St. John's Newfoundland
Bronze - Kitchener, Ontario Hallman Twins
4th - Saskatoon, Saskatchewan Aspen Interiors
5th - Stony Plain, Alberta Twiliters
6th - Newfoundland Impact Signs
7th - St. Thomas, Ontario Centennials
8th - Jarvis, Ontario Merchants
9th - Saskatoon, Saskatchewan Diamondbacks
10th - Charlottetown, PEI Fawcetts
11th - Brookfield, Nova Scotia Elks
12th - Newfoundland Grumpy Stump

2007 Vancouver Grey Sox Executive, Personnel & Players

Co Sponsors - Larry Kancs & Conrad Margolis
Executive Members - Dale McMann, Jim Johnson, Doug Challoner
General Manager - John Mulka
Field Manager - John Stuart
Assistant Coaches - Todd Morrison & Doug Van Os
Sports Pyschologist - Jim Murphy

2 - Trevor Johnstone - Vancouver, BC
5 - Nick Medwedrich - Sooke, BC
6 - Doug Cain - Victoria, BC
7 - Scott Newitt - Delta, BC
8 - Kevin Schellenberg - Garibaldi Highlands, BC
9 - Derek Mayson - North Vancouver, BC
12 - Eric Reisinger - Chilliwack, BC
21 - Rick Smith - Duncan, BC
22 - Chad Ghostkeeper - Prince George, BC
24 - Nick Underhill - Surrey, BC
27 - Sean Cameron - North Vancouver, BC
29 - Korrey Gareau - Cobble Hill, BC
30 - Rob Giesbrecht - Landmark, MB
33 - Kevin Smillie - Squamish, BC
34 - Bryan Abrey - Richmond, BC
38 - Brian Banner - Sooke, BC
42 - Andrew Medwedrich - Sooke, BC

* Unable to compete at the Nationals
Craig Halliday - Squamish, BC
Calem Gardner - Squamish, BC
Dan Whiteford - Cobble Hill, BC

The Grey Sox concluded the season with a record of 34 wins, 17 loses, and 2
ties. News and updates regarding the 2008 season shall be forthcoming in
the weeks ahead.

Larry Kancs
Vancouver Grey Sox