GHFL Championship

September 17, 2007

Niagara Falls, NY

Golden Horsehoe Fastball League Playoff Tournament
Ker Park, Niagara Falls, Ontario
Niagara Storm's Fury won their first GHFL Championship Sunday afternoon, edging the Niagara Snappers 3-2. The Fury were led by winning pitcher Scott Wagar who belted a 2-run home run. Wagar was awarded the Gord Newman Memorial Playoff MVP Trophy to go along with the 2007 MVP Award and the 2007 Most Outstanding Pitcher Award he received last weekend.
Will Lake, Rockwood Rush, was the winner of the Russ Dekker Defensive Player of the Year Award and Tom Fortune was the 2007 recipient of the Janet & Al Greatrix Sportsmanship & Dedication Award.
Congratulations to all teams and players from GHFL President Herb Beckman and special thanks to Peter K and his umpires for their work at the playoff tournament and to the North York Steelers for their participation.
Full results from the four games played Sunday.
See for more information.
Sunday September 16
Ker Park
1 pm  A6 Scottie's 1 A3 Palermo 0
WP: Tom Berube
LP: Gord Scott

3 pm A1 Fury 5 A6 Scottie's 0
WP: Scott Wagar
LP: Tom Berube

3 pm A2 Snappers 5 A5 Hammer 4
WP: Dan Duemo in relief of Byron Demoe
LP: Drew Hathway
Snappers: Trevor Falk HR
Hammer: Dave Benallick HR; Dave Kingdon HR

5 pm - Championship Game
Fury 3 Snappers 2
WP: Scott Wagar
LP: Dan Duemo
Fury: Scott Wagar 2-run HR
Snappers: Mike Bateman HR

Final Playoff Standings
1. Niagara Storm's Fury

2. Niagara Snappers
T3. Waterdown Hammer
T3. Niagara Falls Beam Me Up Scottie's
T5. Mississauga Arrows
T5. Palermo Athletics
T5. Niagara Falls Cool Hand Luke's
T5. Hamilton Hawks
T9. Waterdown Target
T9. Rockwood Rush
T9. Morriston Coyotes
Special thanks to North York Steelers for their participation in the playoff tournament.

2007 GHFL Award Winners
Most Valuable Player: Scott Wagar, Fury
Jeff Wilson, Arrows Trevor Falk, Snappers
Mark Hall, Luke's
Most Outstanding Pitcher: Scott Wagar, Fury
George Topp, Hawks
Byron Demoe, Snappers
Jeff Wilson, Arrows
Russ Dekker Memorial Defensive Player of the Year: Will Lake, Rush
Jim Bedard, Scottie's
Phil John, Fury
Peter Dobbin, Snappers
Gord Newman Memorial GHFL Playoff MVP:
Scott Wagar, Fury
Janet & Al Greatrix Award for Sportsmanship & Dedication:
Tom Fortune, Arrows
Blair Setford