Fury wins Niagara Falls League championship

September 27, 2007

Niagara Falls, ON

Niagara Falls Canada
The Niagara Storms Fury beat Beam Me Up Scotties last night 1-0 to win the Niagara Falls Men's League Championship for the second consecutive year in 4 games. Fury pitcher Scott Wagar and Scotties thrower Tom Berube would again hook up for another classic matchup. As expected both surrendered few hits, Wagar gave up two infield singles and Berube would only give up 4 hits of his own, but two of them in the fifth ultimately decided the game. Phil John hit a double that was later cashed by a Wagar single. Both pitchers dominated the series and the up and coming Scotties team proved to be scrappy and gave the Fury all they could handle.

With the playoffs completed, Niagara Falls wraps up their 2007 league with its annual awards banquet on October 13th. The league again would like to thank all the volunteers and in particular the league executive, Al Greatrix, Herb Beckman, Dave Rotella, Rick Lessard, Craig Smith and Brian Crocker. It is because of these individuals efforts that the league continues to run so effectively year after year. All the teams in Niagara Falls would also like to thank all the participating teams in the GHFL and in particular the team reps and executive, Herb Beckman, Blair Setford, Peter Chambers, Bill Weaver and Tom Fortune. Also the league would like to thank all the teams that participate in its annual league tournament that is a great success year after year and a key to being able to run the league efficiently.
Niagara Storms Fury 1
Beam Me Up Scotties 0
WP - Scott Wagar
LP - Tom Berube
Fury - Scott Wagar double and single, Phil John double and Tom Watkinson single.
Scotties - Craig Smith two singles
Rob Greatrix, CGA
Chief Financial Officer
Integrity Group of Companies
12-111 Fourth Avenue, Suite 365
St Catharine's, Ontario
905-324-6341 (cell)
905-641-9111 (office)
905-641-9144 (fax)