Manitoulin Island Men's Fastball

September 11, 2008

Manitoulin Island, ON

                                                                               It took a fifth and deciding game but the AOK Raiders prevailed to win their second fastball crown in three years last night at the Wikymmekong ball field. After three innings of play the game was never in doubt as the Raiders hammered the Lumberjacks 12 to 4 . A big six run onslaught in the fourth frame was the major difference . Aaron "Sixer" Owl and Bob Madahbee  combined for the win giving up just 5 base hits. Troy Abotossaway led the offensive attack for the Raiders with a perfect 5 for 5  with teammates Shawn Assinewai hitting 2  for 3 , Aaron Assinewai 2 for 4  while Bryan Corbiere hit a solo home run .Brandon Omnika  hit 2 for 3 with a home run in a losing cause for the Lumberjacks . Wiky used three pitchers with the starter  Brent Assinewai being tagged with the loss .Jason Peltier and Brandon Omnika relieved after the third inning. Other members of the champions AOK Raiders were the following: Troy Abotosaway , Mike Abotossaway , Gordon McGraw , Stan Esquimaux , Che Nahweganbo , Alfie Naiwegabbo , Craig Abotossaway , Jeremiah Corbiere , Perry Shawana and Don J. McGraw .Once again congratulations to the AOK Raiders , Manitoulin Island Men's Fastball League 2008 Champions.
                                                                               The list of all-stars for both the North Shore  and the Rick McDonald Memorial Fastball League/Manitoulin Island  MEn's Fastball League is being finalized today the 11th of September and should be out for the media and the fans later this afternoon. Its bragging rights with the Rick McDonald Memorial Fastball league having one the first two by one run : 2006 (1st annual) at the Terry Fox Sports Complex in Sudbury - Rick McDonald 7  North Shore 6 ;2007 (2nd annual) at the Hanmer ball field Rick McDonald 6 North Shore 5.
                                                                               Record holders for the skills competition all from the 2006 edition were the following:
      Fastest pitcher ;  North Shore's  Saginok River Dawgs'    Eric "E-train"  Abitong    104,7  km   an hour
      Fastest   runner around the bases ; Rick McDonald's  Whitefish Lake Steelers   Justin "the vaccum short stop" Nootchtai    17,8 seconds
      Most accurate thrower from the outfield (third base , first base and home plate )  North Shore's Spanish Smokers  payer at 89,6 % efficency
     Home run king : Rick McDonald's Whitefish Lake Steelers'   Chuck Pethgoose  
                                                                                 There will be two additional skills for the 2008 edition of the All-Star Classic Extravaganza .A  very large crowd is expected come Saturday afternoon in Elliot Lake . The skills competition goes at 3 PM with the first pitch of the game itself scheduled for 5 PM
                                                                                Come out and see these all-stars demonstrate their fine athletic   fastball skills.
                                                                                                               Yours in fastball ,
                                                                                                                  Roger Legendre
                                                                                                                  Public Relations Liaison