2010 Decatur Pride

April 7, 2010

Decatur, IL

The Decatur Pride return for 2010 with a revamped pitching staff and
other new additions, adding both youth and depth to the roster.

With the retirement of David Scott and Bobby Ginger, and a season
ending knee injury last month to T.J. Dobson, only Brent Stevenson
remains from last years 4 man staff. Stevenson, who was 3-0 with a
1.11 ERA at last years ToC, will provide leadership and a big game
mentality to the younger players on this year’s squad.

New additions to the Pride pitching staff include 2007 ISC MVP Karl
Gollan. Although still one of the younger pitchers in the ISC,
Gollan is a proven veteran who has excelled at the top level of the
sport for more than 10 years and brings a double bonus with his arm
and potent bat to the Pride line-up. The Pride is also pleased to
announce that 2008 USA Jr. Men’s National Team pitcher Jim Hartman
will be joining the team. The 19 year-old Hartman posted a 2-1
record at last years ToC with the Sioux Falls Sox and is considered
one of the top young pitching prospects in the United States.

Outside the circle, the Pride will again be a mix of veterans and
talented young players.

Behind the plate for the Pride will be one of the top young American
catchers, Camden Decker, who comes to the Pride after spending the
last few seasons with Aurora. Decker will also see time in the
outfield when the pitching staff is being handled by one of the
Pride’s other two veteran catchers, Mike Hopkins and Greg Morganthaler.

Future Hall of Famer David Boys led the Pride in nearly every
offensive category last summer with a .427 batting average, including
25 home runs and 61 RBI’s in 58 games and will return for another
season as the Pride shortstop.

The 2009 ISC II All World Father/Son tandem of Rick Minton and 19
year old Drew Minton will also both be back. Drew will cover the
area his Dad did for so many years with the great Pride teams of the
past and Rick will move over to 1st base where he will share duties
with the Pride’s 2nd leading hitter last year, Doug Williams.

Blake Martin and Larry Moffett will be at 3rd base and utility man
Paul Carlton will also see time in the infield during the year. New
Pride player JD Arnold will split time between shortstop and 2nd
base. Arnold, a Decatur native, was the shortstop for two-time Class
A National Champion Vandalia Guaranteed Air Freight prior to that
team’s folding at the end of last season.

Robbie Tirpak, Ty Morganthaler, Dean Lambert and the final new
addition in the team, Casey Spears, will patrol the outfield.
Spears, a recently graduated Division I center fielder, was the 2009
MVP of the Kelso Klassic when he strung together 15 consecutive hits
and set a tournament record for the most hits ever in the event.

The Pride is supported this year by a Board of Directors that will
oversee the fundraising and development of the team, along with
setting the vision for the future. Those members consist of:

Steve Martin – Business Manager
Phil Jones – Fundraising Director
Wayne Carter – Publicity/Advertising Director
Donna White – Volunteers Director
Mike Martin – Statistics
Pat Dawson – Board Member (President of Miles Chevrolet and Crown
Roger Oliver – Board Member (Owner of Van Horn Hybrids)

The Pride home schedule will be highlighted by the return of the
Decatur Shootout, which has been announced as an ISC Qualifier. In
addition to the Pride, teams entered in this year’s event include
Aurora Dolan & Murphy, The Bar of Appleton, Marshall, MI Lightning,
Belleville Stallions, Pete’s Blues of Mascoutah, IL, Kelso, MO
Fastpich, and Villa Grove Log Cabin. We hope to be announcing a
title sponsor at some point in the very near future.

One of the most attended events of 2009 will also return to Borg
Warner Field this summer. Van Horn Hybrids will again sponsor a Hall
of Fame/Old Timers Night at the ballpark on July 10th. Last season
more than 30 Illinois ASA Hall of Fame Members and former players
from the 1940’s to the 1990’s were introduced and honored prior to
the game in front of nearly 1,000 fans. We expect an even larger
contingent this year based on the popularity of last year’s event.
Following the ceremony, the Pride will play a doubleheader with
Jefferson City, Missouri.

In addition to the above, the Pride will look to compete in both the
ASA Men’s Major Nationals in South Bend and the ISC in Midland along
with other tournaments throughout Illinois and the Kelso Klassic in
Missouri in 2010.

Scott Standerfer

AU Sable AFP Fastpitch Fastpitch West International Softball Congress Men’s Fastpitch SA North American Fastpitch Association Ontario Amateur Softball Association

Ontario Masters Fastball sports betting site betway Shooters Fastpitch League Softball Canada Softball New Zealand WBSC