Lightning Claim OCDFL Title

October 20, 2012

Sharon, ON

Sharon, Ontario

The Lake Simcoe Lightning took the fifth and deciding game of the OCDFL championship by a score of 4-2 Wednesday night in Sharon. Ryan Swift got the win giving up just 4 hits en route to his 2nd win in 2 nights.

Aurora got on the board in the first inning when Evan Boyd scored Jon Halbert with an RBI double to left center. The Lightning responded in the bottom of the first when Todd Hamblin scored John Kemp with a double to left, Hamblin later scored on a passed ball to make the score 2-1 after 1.

In the second inning Brad Copping drove in Dan Miiler with a double to the fence in left center.

Aurora scored in the top of the third on an RBI single by Steve Mullaley, but that was all they could muster as Swift and the Lightning defence closed the door.

John Zeiger put the game out of reach in the bottom of the fourth with his second home run in as many days with a shot deep to center.

Hamblin made the final out of the game on a fly ball behind first base to give the Lightning their first OCDFL title.

Ryan Swift continued his stellar play in the playoffs picking up his third win, while Paul Koert took the loss.


AU Sable AFP Fastpitch Fastpitch West International Softball Congress Men’s Fastpitch SA North American Fastpitch Association Ontario Amateur Softball Association

Ontario Masters Fastball sports betting site betway Shooters Fastpitch League Softball Canada Softball New Zealand WBSC