Australian Open Men`s team announced

December 11, 2012

Canberra, AU


Australian Open Men`s team announced

11 December 2012

Softball Australia is pleased to announce the 17 member Australian Open Men’s team, the Aussie Steelers, who will represent Australia at the ISF XIII Men’s World Championship in Auckland, New Zealand from 1-10 March 2013. This selection process commenced four years ago at the completion of the ISF XII Men’s Championship, when the Aussie Steelers completed an historic win over the New Zealand Black Sox in 2009.


During the past 12 months, selectors have considered the players’ performances at a number of events, including South Brisbane Classic, the ACT International Skins Tournament and the John Reid Shield. Aussie Steelers Head Coach, Bob Harrow, believes that he has the team to win consecutive World Championships. Harrow is “…looking forward to working with the players in preparation for the World Championships.”


After their superior performance in the John Reid Shield, ACT dominates the side with eight players being selected. Their grand final opponents, NSW, have three players selected, with four players from Western Australia and one each from Victoria and Queensland.

Cameron Bint (NSW)

Andrew Havercroft (WA)

Nick Shailes (Qld)

Tim Crome (ACT)

Adam Humble (WA)

Joel Southam (NSW)

Adam Folkard (ACT)

Nathan Jones (WA)

Michael Tanner (ACT)

Michael Gibson (ACT)

Kris Kiefel (Vic)

James Todhunter (NSW)

Jeff Goolagong (ACT)

Andrew Kirkpatrick (ACT)

Zenon Winters (ACT)

Mark Harris (WA)

Nick Norton (ACT)



Three reserves have also been named:

Neal Delpero (WA)

David Edwards (Vic)

Shaun Goffer (Qld)


AU Sable AFP Fastpitch Fastpitch West International Softball Congress Men’s Fastpitch SA North American Fastpitch Association Ontario Amateur Softball Association

Ontario Masters Fastball sports betting site betway Shooters Fastpitch League Softball Canada Softball New Zealand WBSC