Niagara falls wrap 2013

October 26, 2013

Niagara Falls, ON

Niagara Falls Canada


Hi Al


Niagara Falls Men's League

2013 Wrap up


Another very busy season completed in Niagara Falls


The league held its annual awards banquet a couple weeks ago. The league would like thank Al Greatrix (President), Mark Korten (Niagara Fury), Dave Rotella (Hooligans Colts), Darrin Newson, Rich Vassos (Can Am), Perry Bartley, Jay Paylove (Niagara Snappers), Rick Lessard, Herb Beckman, Brian Crocker (Dawgs), Mike Joseph, Bryan Porter (Hill United)  and Wes Short (Jordan Jays) for their time and commitment  to our game in administering the league for 2013. Sometimes a thankless job but it’s the reason we all get to play fastball in Niagara.


Onto the awards


League champs for the regular season, Niagara Snappers with a 13-3 regular season record.


Niagara Fury ace  Scott Wagar, is rewarded and recognized by the league as the regular season Most Valuable Pitcher and the playoff Most valuable pitcher. Wagar was also a finalist for the GHFL Most Valuable Pitcher award.


The regular season MVP was awarded to Darrin Newson of the CanAm. Newson was also the GHFL MVP.


Playoff champs again goes to the Niagara Snappers. The Snaps defeated the Fury for the playoff championship in a one game final 5-4.  It was an exciting game to end our year and for the third consecutive season the Snaps are champs. The Snappers run the table beating Jordan 2-0 in the semis.



This leads to the award for Playoff Most Valuable Player and it goes to Matty Lyons of the Snappers.  Lyons in addition to leading the Snappers at the plate was the winning pitcher in the Championship game against the Fury


The annual Rusty Dekker Memorial award was presented to the Colts Adam Breadner. The award for sportsmanship and dedication was well earned by Breadner who helps administer the Colts team, helped out other Niagara teams when short in addition to a great year at the plate.



The annual Janet Greatrix Memorial award for dedication to the NFMFL was presented to Jason Paylove of the Snappers. Paylove runs the Snapper team and also took on a greater responsibility this year helping with many league issues.


The league again was a great success for 2013. Administering 7 local teams was a bit of a challenge but with the help of all the teams and their organizers/coaches we managed to get through it.. Lots of camaraderie between the players during and after the games.


The league would also like to thank Al Greatrix, President, Niagara Falls umpires for their continued support of Niagara fastball, volunteers, fans, Ker Park grounds crew, City of Niagara Falls, GHFL executive and Niagara Falls players for their dedication to the game. It was indeed a busy year with two tournaments running at Ker and the GHFL games along with the local component. Al as always thank you for posting Niagara Falls results and information and for your continued support of Fastpitch in Niagara.


Will be planning 2014 in the new year. As always any comments are welcome. I am sure I probably missed a thank you or perhaps missed recognizing someone's efforts and if so my apologies. Good luck everyone with their hockey seasons, best wishes for a safe winter and look forward to catching up with whomever is lucky enough to be in Florida in January!



Thanks Rob