Following retirement of Don Porter, Dale McMann elected President of the International Softball Federation

October 28, 2013

Oklahoma City, OK


October 28, 2013


Following retirement of Don Porter, Dale McMann elected President of the International Softball Federation


OKLAHOMA CITY — The Amateur Softball Association (ASA) of America and USA Softball announced today that Canada's Dale McMann has been elected President of the International Softball Federation (ISF) at the 26th ISF Congress in Cartagena, Colombia.  McMann replaces long-time President Don Porter, who announced his retirement following 26 years as the head of the international federation.

"Dale is a highly qualified, professional softball administrator and has the full support of ASA/USA Softball in his new role of ISF President," said ASA/USA Softball Executive Director Ron Radigonda.  "Dale has worked diligently for the development of softball worldwide for many years. He brings a wealth of talent and experience as a player and administrator to our game."

Don Porter joined the ISF in 1965 as the Secretary General before being elected President in 1987.  During his time at the helm of the ISF, Porter worked diligently to promote softball across the globe and provide softball players the opportunity to play on softball's biggest stage: the Olympic Games.  Under his leadership, softball appeared in four Olympic Games before it was shockingly voted out by the International Olympic Committee (IOC) in 2005.  Since that time, Porter has overseen two attempts for softball's Olympic reinstatement, including their most recent attempt at the IOC session in Buenos Aries, Argentina in September. 

"I felt having served the ISF 48 years was enough and it was time for international softball to have new leadership," said Porter.  "I will continue to serve as the World Baseball Softball Confederation (WBSC) co-president until the election of a new president in March 2014.  As a member of the ISF Board of Directors, I will continue to assist and help President McMann in the interim in special and ongoing projects.  We have not given up our efforts to see softball and baseball returned to the Olympic Program.  There are still millions of young girls and boys that would like to participate in our sports and we want to give them that opportunity."

Dale McMann served as President of Softball British Colombia from 1986-1990 before serving as President of Softball Canada from 1990-2001.  He acted as North American Vice-President of the ISF from 1993-2009 before being elected First Vice-President in 2009.

“I am honored with the great trust the membership of the ISF has offered me” said McMann. “I want to acknowledge the many decades of service Mr. Don Porter has given to our sport and I look forward to his continued guidance and efforts. I would also like to thank my family for their ongoing support and I share this honor with them. It is a daunting challenge for me to follow Don Porter’s long list of accomplishments.”

The ISF also elected the following Board of Directors, which carries a four year term:

President: Dale McMann (CAN)

Secretary General: Beng Choo Low (MAS)

1st Vice President: Darryl Clout (AUS)

2nd Vice President: Jesus Suniaga (VEN)

Vice Presidents - Africa: Fridah Shiroya (KEN) and Tirelo Mukokomani (BOT)

Vice Presidents - Latin America: Antonio Morales (COL) and Tommy Velazquez (PUR)

Vice President - North America: E.T. Colvin (USA)

Vice President - English Speaking Caribbean: Endy Croes (ARU)

Vice Presidents - Asia: Tan Yin (CHN) and Taeko Utsugi (JPN)

Vice Presidents - Europe: Francesca Fabretto (AUT) and André van Overbeek (NED)

Vice Presidents - Oceania: Rex Capil (NZL) and Bob Steffy (GUM)

Athlete Representatives: Maria Soto (VEN), term ends 2014 and Robert Rosthenhausler (USA), term ends 2016

Members: Beatrice Allen (IOC Member - GAM) and Meliton Sanchez (IOC Member - PAN)

Immediate Past President: Don Porter (USA)


The locations for the next three world championships were also chosen following the 2009 decision to hold world championships every two years for each respective division:

  • 16th ISF Women's World Championship (2016) - Surrey, BC, Canada
  • 11th ISF Jr. Men's World Championship (2016) - Midland, MI, USA
  • 16th ISF Men's World Championship (2017) - Whitehorse, YK, Canada


The ISF Hall of Fame Commission also elected 18 people from nine countries in five different categories to join the ISF Hall of Fame.

PLAYER: Exiquio Jesus Echarte Leiva (CUB), Oria Wood Knowles (BAH), Luisa Maria Medina Gonzalez (CUB), Mike Piechnik (CAN), Michael White (NZL), Hayley Petrie (AUS) and Brooke Wilkins (AUS)

COACH: Bob Crudgington (AUS), Carlos Caro (PUR), and Eduardo Ramon Sabate (ARG)

UMPIRE: Santos Vazquez Ortiz (PUR)

ADMINISTRATOR: Miguel Acosta Serrano (CUB), Enrique O. Alcarez (ARG), Joseph Chejne Janna (COL), Romell Knowles (BAH), Antonio Morales Arrieta (COL), and R.B. Thomas (USA)

MERITORIOUS: Javier Anaya Lorduy (COL)


About the ISF Headquartered in Plant City, Florida (USA), the ISF is the world governing body of the sport as recognized by the International Olympic Committee and SportAccord (formerly the General Association of International Sports Federations). Softball (women’s fast pitch) made its Olympic debut at the 1996 Games in Atlanta. There are 127 affiliated countries in the ISF and millions of participants in the sport worldwide.


About ASA The Amateur Softball Association, founded in 1933, is the National Governing Body of softball in the United States and a member of the United States Olympic Committee. The ASA has become one of the nation’s largest sports organizations and now sanctions competition in every state through a network of 76 local associations. The ASA has grown from a few hundred teams in the early days to over 200,000 teams today, representing a membership of more than three million. For more information on the ASA, visit http://www.asasoftball.com/.   About USA Softball USA Softball is the brand created, operated and owned by the ASA that links the USA Men’s, Women’s, Junior Boys’ and Junior Girls’ National Team programs together. USA Softball is responsible for training, equipping and promoting these four National Teams to compete in international and domestic competitions. The USA Softball Women’s National Team is one of only two women’s sports involved in the Olympic movement to capture three consecutive gold medals at the Olympic Games since 1996. The U.S. women have also won nine World Championship titles as well as claimed six World Cup of Softball titles. For more information about USA Softball, please visit http://www.usasoftball.com/.



Codi Warren

Marketing and Communications Coordinator

Amateur Softball Association of America/USA Softball

Office 405.425.3431 | Cell 405. 420. 2817