2015 NCAA Women's College World Series field set; games in Oklahoma City begin Thursday

May 26, 2015

Oklahoma City, OK



May 26, 2015


2015 NCAA Women’s College World Series field set; games in Oklahoma City begin Thursday


OKLAHOMA CITY - The Amateur Softball Association (ASA) of America/USA Softball is excited to welcome participants of the 2015 NCAA Women’s College World Series (WCWS) to OGE Energy Field at the ASA Hall of Fame Stadium in Oklahoma City, Okla. Teams earning their way to the WCWS this year include the top eight seeds in the country: Alabama, Auburn, Florida, Louisiana State (LSU), Michigan, Oregon, Tennessee and UCLA.


“Congrats and welcome to the ‘Mecca of softball' to the eight teams that have made this year’s NCAA WCWS,” said Craig Cress, Executive Director for ASA/USA Softball. “Each of these teams has shown us throughout this competitive NCAA Championship that they deserve to be in Oklahoma City playing for a World Series Championship. I’d also like to welcome the passionate fans from each of these outstanding institutions; thank you to all softball fans for supporting our great sport and this great event.


The NCAA WCWS is an eight-team, double-elimination tournament with the best-of-three Championship Series to begin play on Monday, June 1 at 7 p.m. CST. This year’s NCAA WCWS marks the 25th year that this event has been held in Oklahoma City at the ASA Hall of Fame Complex and the future looks bright as last year the facility was deemed the ‘long-term home’ of the WCWS. Hosted by the Oklahoma City All Sports Association and the University of Oklahoma, the action starts Thursday at 11 a.m. CST as No. 8 Tennessee takes on No. 1 Florida


Fans coming to the NCAA WCWS will be able to see the recent construction that has been ongoing at OGE Energy Field. Players will have access to new locker and training rooms underneath the stadium, with tunnels leading to each dugout. Fans will be able to enjoy brand new concession stands on the first and third base sides, along with the new plaza on the first base side which will feature several food vendors. The new hospitality building on the third base side will also be a visible change to visiting fans. In addition, upgraded media accommodations for both radio and writers will debut this year.


The Florida Gators have their sights set on being the first ‘back to back’ National Champions since Arizona in 2006 and 2007. Five of the teams in the field hail from the Southeastern Conference (SEC) with Alabama, Auburn, Florida, LSU and Tennessee comprising the SEC Conference, while Oregon and UCLA represent the Pac-12 and Michigan is the sole representative of the Big Ten Conference.


Tickets are only available for purchase online at and are available starting tomorrow at the box office. The box office outside of OGE Energy Field and the ASA Hall of Fame Complex will open at the following times: Wednesday May 27 at 2 p.m., Thursday May 28 at 9 a.m., Friday May 29 at 3 p.m., Saturday May 30 at 9 a.m., Sunday, May 31 at 10 a.m., and during each day of the Championship series from 3-5 p.m. Note the box office has a limited amount of tickets.


The National Softball Hall of Fame Museum and gift shop will be open the following times for each day: Wednesday, May 20 from 8-5 p.m., Thursday May 21 from 8-6 p.m., Friday May 22 from 8-5 p.m., Saturday and Sunday from 10-6 p.m., and Monday May 25 from 10-4 p.m.


For a complete schedule of the action or any information on the Championship, visit


For fans that are unable to attend the Championship, all games will be broadcasted on ESPN. Check your local listings. 


About ASA/USA Softball
Founded in 1933, the Amateur Softball Association (ASA)/USA Softball is the National Governing Body Softball in the United States and a member of the United States Olympic Committee. One of the nation’s largest sports organizations, ASA/USA Softball sanctions competition in every state through a network of 74 local associations and has grown from a few hundred teams in the early days to over 165,000 teams today, representing a membership of more than 2.5 million.  ASA/USA is responsible for training, equipping and promoting the six USA Softball National Teams that compete in international and domestic competitions. The USA Softball Women’s National Team is one of only two women’s sports involved in the Olympic movement to capture three consecutive gold medals at the Olympic Games since 1996. The U.S. women have also won nine World Championship titles as well as claimed eight World Cup of Softball titles. For more information about ASA/USA Softball, please visit


About the NCAA Women’s College World Series
The ASA Hall of Fame Stadium serves as the home to the NCAA Women’s College World Series (WCWS). For the 25th year, the top eight college teams in the nation will head to Oklahoma City and complete for a National Championship title. Last year, nearly 70,000 fans attended the WCWS. Experience It Live May 28 to June 3 in Oklahoma City. Tickets for the 2015 NCAA WCWS are on sale now, click here to purchase your tickets and make a date with champions!



Nick Dorety

ASA/USA Softball

Marketing & Communications Coordinator

2801 NE 50th Street

Oklahoma  City, OK 73111


405-425-3422 - work

405-757-5306 - cell