Celebrating Excellence!

October 11, 2006

Melbourne, Australia

Celebrating Excellence!


On 14 October 2006, Softball Australia willacknowledge the greatest in its history when players, officials andadministrators gather for the fifth annual Awards of Excellence Dinner in Melbourne.

The night, hosted by swimming greatand media personality Nicole Livingstone, will see former softball legends andfuture legends of the game come together to honour exemplary achievement in thesport.

The categories include coaching,officiating, athletic performance (male and female), spirit and administration.

WHEN:             Saturday 14 October 2006

WHERE:           Bayview onthe Park, Melbourne

TIME:               7.00pm (for 7.30pm start)

 Softball Australia’s Awards of Excellence Categories and Nominees

The Dugout Australian Female Softballer of the Year: Amanda Doman (Qld), Kelly Hardie(Qld), Jackie Ousalkas (Vic), Kelly Ousalkas (Vic), Stacey Porter (NSW), LeahQuackenbush (WA).

Easton Australian Male Softballer ofthe Year: Adam Folkard (ACT), Adam Humble (WA), Andrew Kirkpatrick (ACT), Jason Nathan (Qld), Travis Southam (NSW).

Boronia Travel Centre Young Australian Female Softballer of the Year: Alex Besanko(SA),Toni Dance (Qld), Verity Long-Droppert (WA), Kaia Parnaby (NSW), ClareWarwick (ACT).

Sportscover Young Australian Male Softballer of the Year: James Brooks (Vic), Stephen Flux(Qld), Adam Folkard (ACT), Jamie Sheehan (NSW), Sean Smith-Weaver (WA).

School of Human Movement Studies (Uni of Qld) Australian Softball Coach of the Year: Troy Baverstock (NSW),Lindsey Carroll (ACT), John Neilsen (NSW).

Sport Employment Australia Australian Softball Administrator of the Year: Ryan Benson(NSW), Jane Hunt (SA), Evelyn Seabourne (Tas).

St George Bank Australian LocalSoftball Association of the Year: Casey (Vic), Manly Warringah (NSW).

Bellevue IT Australian Softball Statistician of the Year: Sheena Collings (WA), Val Cross(Qld), Kaye Greggs (NSW), Lindy Rattigan (Softball Australia).

Australian Sports Commission Australian Softball Spirit Award: Paul Maisey (Vic), Natalie Ward(NSW), Joel Southam (NSW).

McKenna Hampton Insurance Vivienne Triplett Awardfor Australian Softball Umpire of the Year: Darren Sibraa(Qld)

Winners in 2006 are nominated by the State and Territory associations of Softball Australia and will beannounced on the night.


Ms Susan Crow, Chief Executive,Softball Australia


DiAnne Lilburn
National Communications Coordinator
Softball Australia
Telephone: 03 9890 8200           
Mobile: 0405 509674


NationalCommunications Coordinator
Softball Australia
Suite 4, Ground Floor
38-40 Prospect Street
Box Hill, Victoria 3128

 T:+61 3 9890 8200
F: +61 3 9890 8295
M: +61 (0) 405 509674

For more information visit www.softball.org.au


Did you know that
Australia is the world's number onesoftball nation? 
World number three - Open Women's team(Aussie Spirit), Silver Medallist (
Athens, 2004), BronzeMedallists (Sydney 2000 and Atlanta 1996).
World number one - Under 19 Men's team(Aussie Colts), three consecutive World Championship titles.
World number three - Open Men's team(Aussie Steelers) and Under 19 Women's team (Aussie Pride).


AU Sable AFP Fastpitch Fastpitch West International Softball Congress Men’s Fastpitch SA North American Fastpitch Association Ontario Amateur Softball Association

Ontario Masters Fastball sports betting site betway Shooters Fastpitch League Softball Canada Softball New Zealand WBSC